Congratulations to Professor Gérard Mourou on award of the Nobel Prize in physics

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics” with one half to Arthur Ashkin and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland. Mourou and Strickland each receive a quarter of the prize for the new technique called Chirped Pulse Amplification (CPA) that paved the way for the shortest and most intense laser pulses ever created. 

Under the supervision of Professor Morou the megagrant “Extreme Light Fields and Their Applications” was implemented at the Lobachevsky University on the basis of the radiophysics faculty. Project Co-Director is Professor Michael Bakunov, Head of the General Physics Department at UNN.
In 2010, Gérard Mourou was invited to work at the Lobachevsky University under the grant program instituted by the Government of the Russian Federation. The laboratory of extreme light fields was created at the Lobachevsky University within grant funding.